# Board of Trustees EXECUTIVE SESSION & BUSINESS MEETING MINUTES Friday, June 12, 2020 (conducted via Zoom)

Executive Session (June 12, 2020, 9:00 -10:00 a.m.)

In Attendance: Susie Burghart (Chair), Sue Allon, Onyx Bengston<sup>+</sup>, Bill Campbell<sup>\*</sup>, Heather Carroll, John Chalik<sup>\*</sup>, Carolyn Cullen, Jerome DeHerrera, Eric Duran<sup>+</sup>, Frieda Ekotto<sup>+</sup>, Jane Franke<sup>+</sup>, Lisa Hastings, Ryan Haygood, Jesse Horn, Jeff Keller, Amy Louis, Tafari Lumumba, Kishen Mangat, Bob Manning<sup>\*</sup>,

Chair Burghart also welcomed new charter trustees Eric Duran, Frieda Ekotto, Jane Franke, So Yong Park, and France Winddance Twine to their first board retreat, noting that their terms begin officially on July 1, 2020.

#### 3UHVLGHQWÖV 5HSRUW

**3UHVLGHQW 7LHIHQWKDOHU XVHG KHU ILQDO SUHVLGHQWØ** trustees for their leadership. She thanked Susie Burghart, Eben Moulton, Sue Woolsey and Van Skilling for their leadership as board chairs and for their advice and friendship.

## <u>'HDQ RI WKH )DFX</u>OW\ÖV 5HSRUW

Dean of the Faculty Claire Oberon Garcia advanced three items for board approval:

- 1. Promotion to full professorship for Kristine Lang (Physics)
- 2.

their continuing support of scholarships. Finally, Ms. Bodnar noted that the COVID-19 Emergency Response Fund has received more than \$135,000 in donations to date.

## <u>Adjournment</u>

There being no other business, the meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m. Respectfully submitted,

Susan S. Burghart Chair Appendix 1: Reports on electronic voting conducted between February 22 and June 12, 2020

# A. BYLAW AMMENDEMENT: March 26 <sup>2</sup> April 3, 2020 **NOTICE**

From: Kim Waldron To:

Kim Waldron VOTE: CC bylaw amendment Subject: Date: Thursday, March 26, 2020 9:46:54 AM

Attachments: B, G & I Bylaw revision -

## **RESULTS**

YES/APPROVE: 32 of 32 voting trustees (unanimous)

NO/DISAPPROVE: 0

**ABSTENTIONS: 0** 

## B. BOARD SECRETARY: May 7-15, 2020

## **NOTICE:**

Please see the following notice of an electronic vote of the Board of Trustees, from Board Chair Susie Burghart, and respond by Friday, May 15, 2020.

Dear Members of the Board of Trustees,

Marc St. John has indicated that he will resign from the Board of Trustees, and from KLV SRVLWLRQ DV ERDUG VHFUHWDU\ HIIHFWLYH - XQH the terms of all of our board officers\*, will end on July 31, 2021.

7KH E\ODZV DOORZ WKH ERDUG WR ILOO Welfinh. TXhQH[SLUHG SI Executive Committee recommends that the board elect Jerome DeHerrera\*\* as board VHFUHWDU\ WR ILOO 0DUFÖV XQH[SLUHG WHUP IURP -XO\

I now ask trustees to vote on this recommendation.

Please reply to this email (to Kim Waldron), by Friday, May 15, 2020